Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggests that the implementation of students at Omega University grading the effectiveness of their professors capability resulted in high grades of the students and therefore led to decline in the employability of it's students. The evidence in the prompt does not correlate with the conclusion at all.

First, there is no proof that professors assign higher grades to student based on the evaluation procedure. The prompt stated that the overall grade increased by 30% and prematurely assume that this is due to the evaluation process. Perhaps it could be that students generally increased in their learning ability and improve in their various courses. It is also possible that over the years, Omega University employed more professors that are efficient in their work which also acts as a contributing factor for the increase in grades. If this is true, the author assumption that increase in grades in Omega University does not hold water.

Secondly, the case of potential employers assuming that the students grades at Omega University doesn't account for their achievement based on the new procedure. How many employers and/or company gave this review? Could it be that the employers that gave this review are specific to a particular field of interest only, perhaps science-related job only? If the author is indicating the review of 2 or 3 potential employers has validity for other employers then the assumption is considerably flawed.

Thirdly, the employability factor of Omega University vs Alpha University begs to be questions. The author only assumption for the increase in the employement of alpha University students vs Omega University is solely on the basis of grades. Could it be that Alpha University students possess other employability factors that Omega University lacks? If certain employers are looking for soft skills asides grades that Alpha University students possess and Omega University students lack, of course employers would give out jobs to students from Alpha University over Omega University. If this case is true, then the author needs to reevaluate it's conclusion.

Finally, what is the ratio of students in Omega University to Alpha University? The population of Omega University may be significantly higher than Alpha University. For instance if the ration of students is 15:1 for Omega and Alpha University respectively, then it will seem as though Alpha University gets employed more than Omega University which is not true because for every one student job, Omega will need to have 15 students employed to balance the scale. If any of this is true then the assumption of the author is weakened.

In conclusion, before Omega University terminates it's evaluation process in order to improve the prospective job available for their students, they need to make more findings on why there is a decrease in the employability of their students compare to Alpha University Otherwise they risk reducing the grade of their students without concrete reasons.