Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Individuals have had to give up their dream of becoming a doctor, lawyer, an accountant due to the inability to afford various tuition fees. Some students have had to drop-out of school half way because they couldn't afford the higher degree costs. Although the role of tuition fees in education cannot be underestimated and easily overlooked, tuition fees allows individual institution to provide various amenities for their students and staffs. The recommendation is that government should offer free education for all it's students. I strongly agree with this prompt for two reasons.

A fundamental argument could be made to disagree with the above prompt. Such argument could stem from questions such as how will faculty members paid their allowances and salaries? How will the school mintain it's laboratories equipments and provide reagents needed for it's research-based students? All these questions and more will beg for answers on how government will sustain their high educational standard without the aid of tuition fee from it's students. It may also be argued that the presence of free-tuition will allow students take education for 'granted'. Many will believe that, because these student are not investing money in their studies, then they won't show the alacrity and diligence needed to take their studies seriously.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned example, it is well known that students run into debt all in the name of going to colleges and universities. Student-loan is very common in institution and statistics have shown that it takes years (more than ten years in some cases) to pay up such loans. Some student did not grow up in a 'priviledge-home' and probably did not have trust funds waiting for them to cater for their needs at higher institution. A typical example is the case of a student who wants to become a medical student. Such student will have to go to college first for four years and then attend medical school in order to earn their MD. The accumulation of tuition fees during this period is exorbitant! Or a student who wants to be a lawyer will also have to go to law school, graduate and then use the next consectuive years paying up loan. If government can scrap tuition fees and make it part that of their yearly budget, such individuals and many more can attend schools and attain their career goals without worrying about becoming insolvent.

Furthermore, some countries are already following the tuition-free system. Germany is an example. In Germany, student attend colleges and universities without paying any dime. This encourage students to attend schools focusing solely on their studies without having to do two or more part-time jobs. In the United States, it is common a common thread that students takes up part-time jobs to aid their cost of living while worrying about not floundering their various courses. Juggling work and studies will definitely take it's toll on such students as they won't perform as they should in their classes. A typical example where tuition-free works, is the case of PhD students. Most PhD courses especially the STEM courses waive tuition fee for it's accepted students while covering their monthly stipends and health insurance. This allows PhD students to focus on their education and give off good results.

In conclusion, the expenses that comes with attending colleges and universities is far more than free education. Individuals will have to worry about cost of living, accommodation, stipends/allowances e.t.c If government can make education free, then it will be like a weight being lifted off their shoulders. That way students get to focus on other costs aside tuition. If certain countries can do it, that means it is very possible for other countries to follow suit.