A memorandum was written by a TV station to devote more time to local news and weather programs in order to increase advertising revenue.

Every business person wants their company to be successful. For many companies, success means revenue at whatever cost. Other companies consider the priorities and preferences of their customers. The memorandum of this television station is suggesting to modify their late-night program features in order to ameliorate their viewers complaints and their recent decline in advertising revenue. While it is a laudable goal for the TV station to manage their company based on their customers' needs, there are other consideration that the company needs to acknowledge before making a change in their programing.

To begin with, it is important for the TV station to value the concerns of their viewers, but a more trenchant analysis of possible complaints would guide the company into different solutions. The memorandum does not seem to consider the fact that the amount of complaints from late night viewers is connected to the amount of time that people have to complain. Perhaps viewers have more time to complain in the late-night hours due to a period of rest from work and duties of having to take care of children.

Additionally, the company needs to consider what the complaints are about. Yes, they shared a general topic concern of weather and local news. However, there is the option of continuing their coverage of national news with a small add on at the bottom of the screen that happens to share local weather updates. Since there does not seem to be a big focus on complaints about national news, this solution considers the viewers who enjoy national news coverage as well as attending to the complaints of those who appreciate local weather coverage.

Moreover, to companies biggest concern is tied to the implication of lost revenue. Within the memorandum, it avers that local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts during the late night hours, but it does not give us any information on the addition of new advertising contracts. Perhaps the TV station is now gaining more national advertising, such as traveling agencies sue to the promotional opportunity of their viewers who are interested in national topics.

Of course, a company needs to consider how it can continue to grow and satisfy their customers. However, this TV station needs to consider the correlation that the TV station is losing revenue by devoting more time to weather and local news is not strong enough. There are other solutions that the company could apply.