Nations should require a national educational curriculum

Education has always been a hot topic of discussion when it comes to public poilicy. What makes this topic contraversial is the value that a proper education holds in our society. From the early developement of the United States, education eas a commodity that was not disruputed equaly among different races. In other nations, such as those in the middle east, not all genders are educated equally. Therefore, it is a just arguement to mandate that all nations develop a similar eduactional system for students up until college, especially since we are entering a more global economy. However, we must consider the differences that nations and individuals hold.

Requiring all nations to study the same curriculum seems like a chimera. There are many hidden implications that will cause this policy to twist the education of culture, language, history, and diversity. It is already difficult for most elementary teachers to teach children all of the history of the United States. With students only being in class a few hours of the day, and then have an entire summer off, it would be borderline impossible to maintain the equity of teaching a global curriculum with the amount of time that students have in school before entering college.\

An example from the United States allows us to see why a national curriculum seems to be a far fetched idea that ignores logistical policy development. During the early 21st century, the US came out with the idea to immplement a the Common Core Curriculm, which asked all of its 50 states to teach the same curriculm. It's main purpose was to have equally comparable scores, so that the nation could compare what was working best. Nonetheless, not all states were on board with the plolicy and many states lost funding.

With that idea in mind, a national curriculum is not completely out of the question. If a school district or private company were to develop a functional global curriculum, then I believe parents and gaurdians would consider adopting this program. The internet allows this idea to become a full fledged possibilty. Many parents are now choosing to enroll their students into online classes. Giving students the option to study a national curriculum would put them at an advantage and it is not too far from the already accessible private and charter schools.

Additionally, while it might be too far to mandate all students to study a national curriculum up until college, I do not think it would be a bad idea to continue this option outside of high school graduation. There are many students who study abroad in college in order to experience a different culture and submerge themselves into a different language. The idea of a national education has clearly already sparked the interest of students in college. Therefore, the idea of a national curriculum should not stop at college.

The arguement of requiring nations to create a national curriculum does not seem to have bad intentions. The development of a national curriculum would allow students to have equal acces to education. On the other hand, there is not enough support to actualize this policy. Those who support this idea should consider the logistics behind such an arguement, such as time, culture and language differences.