Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Nature is resilient and has survived for over billions of years, however it seems as though the aftermath of the industrial revolution and a recent growth in technology has endangered natural habitats throughout the world. While developments can benefit nations, we must be cognizant of irreversible damage that can be an effect of economic greed. New developments can also provide gains for the economy without destroying nature’s pure state.

Some of the most traveled to areas around the world are visited because of their historic nature and natural beauty. The national forest in Yosemite, CA is a great example of a wilderness area that is protected by laws to preserve its natural state, as much as possible. The ending caveat however implies that there must be room for the development of highways, tunnels, and hotel establishments in order for travelers to

We must also remember that Rome was not built in a day. While thousands of years ago, civilians might have considered the development of a massive coliseum in middle of such a small nation. The preservation of wilderness area might be more important to smaller nations such as Rome, when compared to China; However, there should be leeway in the consideration of developing property regardless of the limited amount of wilderness area available. Now the rundown development is what continues to bring economic wealth to Rome, until this day.

Nonetheless, we should also consider ethical standards when it comes to the discussion of economic gain. The development of the North Dakota pipeline in the United States is a great example of the need to propose a law to preserve the historic nature of North Dakota, where Native American burial grounds are known to be. The prosperity that a new oil pipeline can bring to the United States is beyond millions to billions of dollars; however, Native American history has never had a strong influence in American education and is therefore often taken for granted. In this case, the economic gain does not supersede the value of one of the very few remaining Native American burial grounds.

To conclude, there should be a deep consideration to preserve nations some nations wilderness areas with the idea of possible developments that could bring economic gain. The placement of a tunnel in Yosemite national park and a few hotel establishments does not imply that the entire forest will be endangered. Therefore, nations should consider laws to preserve wilderness areas, but also consider possible development as long as there are ethical standards being applied.