Nations should require a national curriculum.

I can partially assent to the recommendation due to the fact that it intimates good intentions, but also presents itself as a blanket statement that does not seem to consider hindering implications.

Certainly having a national curriculum would allow a country to have trenchant data that could lend itself as a guide to bettering curriculum. Assessments on a national scale can bolster policy moves. For example, if a nation is assessing students with similar curriculum, then policy makers can use the data of successful schools and failing schools. To expand more on this point, and to provide a more realistic example, the United States recently implemented the Common Core, which mandated a government research based curriculum across the country. This policy has allowed teachers to share resources nationwide and created comparable data. This data opens the doors for districts and states to used successful strategies that are evident, given that the same topics are taught and tested.

Conversely, that same US policy has had negative impacts. Some states pertinaciously fought the notion of mandating a government research based curriculum since not all states shared similar historical backgrounds. It is not fair to ask California, a state established after the constitution, to teach with the same format as Philadelphia, which was a founding colony. Texas was one of the biggest states to refute the mandate because it understood that education was circumstantial even within the massive state, so it would clearly differ on a national scale.

Given the Texas state mentality, perhaps a better way to view this recommendation is to consider that a national curriculum as an option to the public. The increase of technology allows this modification to be a reality. For instance, an online version of a national curriculum where parents or guardians registered their children as a choice, instead of being enforced into their education by their government. Additionally, There is the option of creating this curriculum within charter schools. These solutions allow the recommendation to stay as it is, with a lighter approach to choice.

Moreover, the idea of a national curriculum does not have to end at the college level. It would be easier for graduates to apply across states if companies knew that all of their candidates were trained equally regardless of their state. There would be a more comparable pool of candidates if this recommendation went beyond college.

In conclusion, we must remember that education is always a hot topic when it comes to government because, as the axiom "Children are our future."It needs to be stressed, however, that while the statement intimates good intentions, such as providing equal access to communities regardless of their socio-economic stance, policies need to consider the differences in culture and history.