Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While it may be true that consuming salicylates will reduce headaches among residents of Mentia; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that food companies may use more salicylates for food preservatives to reduce headaches suffering for their customers, but the author needs verifiable evidences to prove his/her recommendation.

First of all, the author mentions that twenty-year study has been shown that salicylate consumption can reduce headache for consumers, but the author does not talk about the age and gender and total number of residents in Mentia. Women may get more headaches than men or young college students may get more headaches than others because of their stress from studying. In addition, the author does not indicate the total number of residents in Mentia which can make a different perspective from the study result. If there are not that many people living in Mentia, so the study result may not be valuable enough.

Additionally, the author mentions that consuming foods with salicylate is going to help with headache relieve which can be true, but he/she does not give any information about residents’ life styles. There are other factors that can help with headache relieving too. For example, exercise and yoga, drinking water, and calm work environment can all be effective elements on not getting headaches. To strength his/her suggestion, the author needs to investigate about lifestyle of people who live in Mentia.

Last but not least, the author does not indicate if the salicylate in food preservatives is going to have a same effect as aspirin on headache or not. There might be no correlation between declining headaches and consuming foods high in Salicylate. In addition, some people might not be willing to eat processed food. They might like to eat fresh food products most of the time, so adding more salicylate to foods may not be helpful that much.

The author can make his/her suggestions persuasive when he/she gathers information about age, gender, and total number of residents, their lifestyles, and the efficiency of Salicylate on decreasing headaches. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.