A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food- processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty- year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

The twenty year study about mainly concludes that decrease of the headaches reported has a relation with the increasing commercial use of salicylates. While It may be that this is actually correlated with the increasing use of salicylates and may also be possible that the number of headaches reported in future might decrease , there are some of the questions which need to be addressed .

Firstly, the author assumes that salicylates were the only main reason due to which the number of headaches reported in the study were decreasing over the period of time. Perhaps, It is possible that before the study , the residents of mentia used to have a quiet stressful and busy life due to which there were headaches but slowly over time they have started to follow practices like yoga, changes in diet which actually resulted in peace of mind and eventually reports of headaches decreased. If this is true, then the authors argument and the prediction quite weakens.

Secondly, It is also possible that the results of the study are far from the actual reality. Perhaps, It may be possible that during early stages of study there were a large number of participants and eventually the participants were decreasing. It might be the main reason for decrease in total number of reported headaches ,but actually the situation might have been the same. It is given in the passage that there was a increase in commercial use of salicylates , but it is assumed that residents in mentia eat outside frequently ,In contrast residents actually eat food in home more often than outside which weakens the authors argument of reported headaches down due to increased use of salicylates.

Finally, the author predicts that there will be a reduction of headaches in future. Is there any chance that the salicylates are replaced with other food preservatives which are more feasible for both food restaurants and people? The other question that comes to mind is that , What if there is a large population jump in mentia which directly attributes t increase in reported cases? If any one of this is the case then even if the decreased headache reports were due to increased use of salicylates the prediction will become invalid.

In conclusion, As of now the reasons provided in the passage does not justify the conclusion of the author. If the author is able to provide more evidence then we can actually evaluate the conclusion based on the given proofs . The author also cannot actually predict the future unless he has a formidable evidence that the reported headache cases are going to be decreased due to increase in use of salicylates.