A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of

Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates.

Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to

treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-

processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-

year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates

and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study

participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies

had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods,

and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some

health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in

the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the prediction.

Based on the information provided in the passage the health experts have predicted that the increase in the use of salicylates will lead to fewer headaches in the future. However, the experts prediction does not seem well thought through, and neglects several other possibilities and effects of salicylates.

The author mentions the twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates however, does not clearly state the scope and validity of the study. For example, the study could have been conducted on younger people who do not frequently suffer from headaches. The sample size of the study can be inadequate. The study may not have considered the varied amount of salicylate consumption for each individual. We just do not know. Unless the study is fully representative, valid, and reliable, it cannot be used to back the prediction effectively.

Moreover, the author mentions that many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. But it is not clear what amount of salicylate consumption can lead to a decline in headaches. The amount of natural and added salicylates in the food should be enough to prevent headaches from happening. Even though, the salicylates belong to the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Does salicylate really help in assuaging headaches? To strengthen his/her argument, the author should present some evidence that can validate the use of salicylates as a prevention of headaches.

Additionally, the author also mentions that food-processing companies had discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and as a result, many companies plan to do so. Building upon the study the health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future. Although, there can be a few downsides to the excess consumption of salicylates. Are the side effects of consuming excess salicylates considered by companies or health experts? Does the company abide by safety guidelines for the use of salicylates? The author does not provide significant evidence that salicylates in any amount are safe to consume.

Ultimately, unless the questions and assumptions are addressed, the predictions made by the health experts cannot be justified.