“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is primarily focused to talk about solution for the unemployment existing in the Hillview. In the first portion of the argument the pointed out that the area is undeveloped for decades. Hence we are not sure about the people in the area are educated. How they would educate the people in the area? Whether there is any schools and colleges near to Hillview? Also it is not explained in the argument that what would be the requirements to get a job in the upcoming automobile manufacturing plant. Whether they are looking for a skilled labor or unskilled labor. Also it should be necessary to point out whether the company would be willing to employ people for the area or they would employ people from any other places. So how we can assume that by building the automobile manufacturing plant would increase the employment opportunity of the people in that particular area?

Also there is point saying the reason for unemployment in the area. The abandonment of national facility of Computech computer software programming company in the last year. So we can assume the people worked in the company were having completed their studies in the field of computer and programming. So how we can say that by building an automobile company would solve the problem of unemployment? THe unemployed people were working in the programming field. So it should be necessary to give more explanation about whether any programming related posts are available there in the upcoming company to reach the unemployed people. So it should be well explained how it solve the unemployment as we cannot compare both companies for how much employment opportunities will be available.

In conclusion, the solution for the problem of unemployment is building a new company in that particular area. But it is necessary to check whether that particular comapny would rectify the problem in the area.