"In order to save a considerable amount of money, Rockingham's century-old town hall should be torn down and replaced by the larger and more energy-efficient building that some citizens have proposed. The old town hall is too small to comfortably accommodate the number of people who are employed by the town. In addition, it is very costly to heat the old hall in winter and cool it in summer. The new, larger building would be more energy efficient, costing less per square foot to heat and cool than the old hall. Furthermore, it would be possible to rent out some of the space in the new building, thereby generating income for the town of Rockingham."

While it may be true that the citizens ought to devote more money to Rockingham's century-old town hall, this authors argument does not case for a cogent argument, cost required to build a new town hall and no other important problems in town which are to be addressed. It is easy to understand why city residents would want a new town hall, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to increased funding.

To begin with, author refers that the new building would be more energy efficient, moreover its costing is less per square feet to heat and cool compare to the old hall, but it fails to mention how much time will it take to compensate the money required to build the new town hall from reduction of cost to heat and cool, additionally by renting some space .if the time taken is very long then is no point in reconstruction of town hall

secondly,author did not consider the idea of fixing the town hall by making necessary changes, for instance changing equipment which are used for heating and cooling, with equipment which are more efficient, use less electricity and rather than demolishing the building just expand on those sides where it is possible,with this a lot of money can be saved additionally create some space for renting without demolishing it.

thirdly, writer of this argument failed to acknowledge whether there are other important issues are that needed to be addressed and money required here can invested in more important issues for example building schools and hospitals, if present improve their conditions, so that i could be beneficial for whole town starting from children to elderly people.

lastly, that citizens who have proposed this proposal represent the diverse people, is these can accurately be considered as requirement of whole town members, for instance, people who requested for town may be the employees of town hall may they want a new office for their personal benefit and the people who have proposed are not aware of other problems in the town which are needed to addressed.

Saving electricity always saves money and a good thing to do. but the argument presented by author, is an efficient way to do it, i don't think so. Since, this author's argument is plagued with numerous fallacies, it is not likely significant to persuade the city government to allocate increased funding.