"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the argument may seem tenable at first glance, the conclusion made by Central Plaza store owners relies on certain assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. The argument that by prohibiting skateboarding in central plaza will lead to a boost in business as previously high level since is not entirely cogently convincing as it condones crucial assumptions which would make the conclusion more propitious and result in rosy outcome.

Firstly, the argument assumes that the increase in amount of litter and vandalism throughout plaza is due to increasing number of skateboard users. There is no direct co relation to prove so. There is a possibility that the cause of this malign environment is something else like the street dogs or normal customers could be littering the plaza and the vandalism is engendered by robbers or petty thieves. the argument could have been strengthened if it provided a direct connection between the skateboarders and the problem.

secondly, the argument relies on assumption that a number of their shoppers have converted into skateboarders. However this is not certainly true. the increase in number of skateboarders does not imperatively imply that the customers got influenced by skateboarding so they averted from shopping from stores. This decline in the number of customers could be due to myriad reasons like weather condition was not favorable for people to go for shopping, lack in interest of customers or drifting of the crowd to newly opened shopping complex nearby. This hole in argument could have been plugged if it provided any relevant reasons as stated above.

Thirdly, the argument underpins its conclusion on the assumption that prohibiting skateboarding in the plaza would be providential in bringing them back to business as all of the skateboarders would be compelled to return back to visiting their shops. there is no certainty that these skateboarders which they presume are their old customers would actually stop skateboarding . there is possibility that they will start skateboarding elsewhere and their business will still see no sunshine. the argument could be strengthened if it mentioned skateboarding would be banned in the entire city.

As a result, sufficient evidences as mentioned above manifest that the argument is not completely sound. The evidence to corroborate the conclusion that there will be augmentation in business of central plaza store owners if skateboarding is prohibited is central plaza , does little to do so and it could be bolstered and reliable if it incorporated the assumptions raised.