Claim No act is done purely for the benefit of others Reason All actions even those that seem to be done for other people are based on self interest

Globalization and consumerism have made human being, as a species, more greedier than ever. Most of the activities done by people based on self interest are shown as if they are for welfare of others. However, there are still others who do things purely for benefit of others rebuking this statement. Thus, I don't agree with the prompt and the reason mentioned for following reasons.

To begin, we have seen this several times throughout the history. For instance, Ratan Tata is the founder of Tata motors, leading automobile producer in India, whose vehicles are running through the highways around the globe. He is as famous as an donator as he is famous as an industrialist. He has contributed to education and healthcare of rural villages around the world. Indian Movie star Aamir Khan is another example. He established Paani Foundation with the help of hydrology experts and organized a water harvesting competition in Maharastra, India. Hundreds of villages participated in the competition, implementing various ideas of water harvesting in order to combat long drought seasons prevalent in the region. This competition not only helped villagers develop capacity to combat drought in the season, but also brought several ancient technologies combating inclement weather into limelight. These technologies can now be used around the globe combat and reverse hazards related with climate change. However, these magnanimous activities are brought to the world just because these people are already famous. Each and every person is doing works for benefit of others, which are not brought into limelight.

Besides these, there are activities that are done solely for inner peace, or to satisfy soul. Saints from all religions around the globe agree that giving or doing great things for others will give us much required inner peace. There is a quote in Hindu text "Whatever you do to others, karma will bring it back to you". And with growing concern of our society towards spiritual awakening, these things are reaching more and more audiences. As a result, people are being more concerned to benefit of others.

Since we have recently seen several examples of people doing great things for others just to upload their activities in social media, and being viral. Some others speak their activities in social media with high spirit and get views and likes. It is true that these activities reach more audiences compared to activities done by those who do not express so much. However, this does not necessarily mean that these viral-hungy people dominate the large portion of our society. there are more people who does selfless activities truely for sake of others.