"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter above a shop owner states that it is his belief that an increased number of skateboarders in the Central Plaza is causing harm to the number of sells made by the shop owners. To support his claims, he gives a number of evidence which he believes proves his point. However, there are a number of faults in his line of reasoning which prevents one from coming to one conclusion or another.

First of all, he states that the number of skateboarders has increased dramatically while number of shops in the Plaza has been decreasing. While these two facts may or may not be true (as he has given no definitive proof) do not necessarily mean there is any link in between the two events. A clear reasoning needs to be provided as to why these are linked, then and only then, the events can be stated to have a cause and effect relation.

Then he talks about the belief that the shop owners have regarding their sells and skateboarders. Once again there is no clear evidence provided for this belief. This statement might also just be due to a bias that the shop owners have against the skateboarders. Also, there may very well be other factors which are affecting the business. Perhaps the customers are simply choosing other retailers due to bad pricing at the Plaza or perhaps the number of shops has increased in other parts of town leading people to go to places nearer for convenience rather then come to the Plaza.

Lastly the writer says there has been an increased number of vandalization and littering in the Plaza which, he also may very well be falsely attributing to the skateboarders. As he gives no clear evidence linking the two. This just may very well be due to factors like more people simply littering or perhaps some other group is specifically responsible. There very well may be no increase for that matter as the writer provides no evidence to support his claim. In fact, it may very well be that he himself is biased towards skateboarders for some reason!

In conclusion, the author needs to provide a solid evidence in the number of skateboarders increase and a loss in sells and address as to why other factors are not involved in diminishing sells if one is to take his argument seriously.