Over the past two years the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number

In a letter to the editor, a Central Plaza store owner voiced concerns regarding declining business to stores within the plaza. The author of the letter asserts that increased skateboarding in the plaza occurred at the same time as business decreased, while vandalism and litter increased as well. This store owner recommends that skateboarding be banned in the plaza so that shoppers will return and business increase to normal levels. However, there are several questions that must be answered before the city enacts such a ban.

More information is needed regarding the demographics of shoppers in the plaza and the city as a whole. Over the past two years, have there been fewer shoppers in Central Plaza in general, or have shoppers not been purchasing items? If business decreased in the plaza, that does not necessarily mean that the number of shoppers in the area declined as well; customers could be choosing not to buy as many goods. Furthermore, has the population of the city declined in recent years? If there are fewer citizens in the city overall, then there will be fewer people shopping in the plaza. The answers to these questions will inform the city on its overall population trends and consumer habits, which can be used to evaluate if other factors besides skateboarders have caused business in Central Plaza to declined.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the skateboarders are the reason for the decreased business in Central Plaza. Are skateboarders the reason people may not be coming to the plaza? The author has not surveyed customers to inquire as to why they may not be shopping as much as Central Plaza, and the claims he/she makes are all based on assumptions. Shopper surveys can help answer the question as to why they are not purchasing as many goods as they previously did from stores in Central Plaza, or why they do not wish to be in the plaze. If the surveys do indicate that the presence of skateboarders is a deterrent, then the city may need to develop a ban like the author recommends.

Finally, the store owner’s logical argument needs to be addressed, as the author presents no clear link between skateboarders and the vandalism and and litter in the plaza. Are skateboarders actually responsible for the litter and vandalism in the plaza? The owner provides no evidence to support this assertion. If the answer to this question is yes, then the owner’s recommendation to ban skateboarding may be valid. However, officials need to observe this before jumping to conclusions as well.

The author of this letter to the editor, a Central Plaza store owner, believes that increased numbers of skateboarders in the plaza are responsible for increased vandalism and litter, thus deterring customers and decreasing business. The connections he/she draws in the letter leave many questions to be answered, and the city should not implement a ban on skateboarders in the plaza until they are answered. A link between the skateboarders and decreased shopping needs to be established, as well as a connection between the skateboarders and the vandalism and litter. Only then can the recommendation of the store owner be moved forward with the city governance.