The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this letter claims that Adams Realty is the superior company to use when selling a home, based on the number and type of employees, as well as the yearly revenue and the author’s personal experience. However, the author makes several assumptions when making this claim, and the validity of these assumptions is unknown as they are not supported by evidence.

First, the author asserts that Adams Realty has fifteen more real estate agents than Fitch Realty, where most of the agents are part-time employees. The author does not provide information on the quality of these agents’ work or the promptness of their responses to clients. Having more full-time employees does not guarantee a better experience with a company, as the 40 full-time employees at Adams Realty could all be inadequate at their jobs while the 25 mostly part-time employees at Fitch Realty could be stellar. These claims regarding the number and type of employees at each firm may not be supported when employees are assessed for their quality of service and prompt responses, which will weaken the author’s claim of Adams Realty as the superior choice.

Furthermore, the author states that Adams Realty reported higher revenue and higher average homes sales compared to Fitch Realty in the previous year. What size are the lots and homes each company lists? It is possible that Fitch Realty mainly sells smaller homes or condos compared to Adams Realty, which tend to sell for less than larger, single-family homes on large lots. The revenue and average home sale of each company does not necessarily mean that one is better than the other; the revenue generated by Adams Realty could have come from selling fewer, more expensive homes, while the revenue from Fitch could have come from selling many, smaller homes. The author needs to provide more information to corroborate this statement for it to support their argument.

Finally, the author states that homes listed with Adams Realty sell faster than homes listed with Fitch Realty. However, there are many factors that go into how long a house stays on the market. What is the state of the market? Is it better for buying or for selling? Ten years ago when the author sold their first home with Fitch Realty, the market was most likely very different than it is today. The state of a property for sale also impacts its duration on the market. What are the differences between the properties the author sold? If the house sold by Fitch Realty ten years ago was small and poorly maintained, then its duration on the market is likely related to its condition than to the realty company. Additionally, if the house the author sold last year through Adams Realty was much larger or in much better condition than the previously sold house, then its short duration on the market likely has less to do with the realty company and more to do with its condition. The author needs to provide this information for their claims to be supported by this assumption.

The author of this letter claims that Adams Realty is the superior company to use when selling a home, yet their assertion is mostly based on unsupported assumptions. If proven false, these assumptions will cause the author’s claim to collapse, and their argument will no longer be valid.