The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this letter featured in the Balmer Island Gazette claims that accidents between mopeds and pedestrians will be reduced by half if the number of moped rentals is reduced during the summer months. However, there are many questions that need to be answered for this argument to have merit.

First, the author states that mopeds are a popular mode of transportation. Where did this information come from? Did Balmer Island residents and visitors fill out a survey, and if so, is this survey representative of the population? How many people completed this survey? Until the author confirms this statement by identifying the source of this information and providing details to its accuracy and validity, this claim cannot be taken as fact and cannot support this argument.

Furthermore, how does the author know that reducing moped rentals will decrease accidents? There is no guarantee that this is a causal relationship, as the author assumes, but correlation does not imply causation. Limiting the number of moped rentals may not have the desired effect on the number of accidents, and this will weaken the author’s argument.

Finally, the author draws his/her conclusion that lower moped rentals will decrease accidents from the neighboring island of Seaville, where a similar policy was enacted the year prior. However, the author does not give any other information about Seaville. Does Seaville also experience large population increases during summer months? Is the population of Seaville higher or lower than Balmer Island’s population? Did Seaville’s leadership enact any other safety policies to reduce the number of accidents between mopeds and pedestrians? Little information is provided about Seaville, and the author needs to answer these questions to draw parallels between Seaville and Balmer Island to have this point strengthen his/her argument.

The author of this letter centers his/her argument on the popularity of mopeds, and claims that a reduction in the number of moped rentals in summer months will reduce the number of accidents between mopeds and pedestrians by half. While this argument may hold water, the author must address the questions presented above to strengthen his/her claims.