To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When examining a society, one must look at all components to fully understand it, as an incomplete picture is a misunderstood one. While a society’s major cities are often its economic, social, and political centers, the rural areas of a society are also key to understanding a society in its entirety.

Major cities are an important key to understanding a society, as they hold many vital political, social, and economic institutions that help societies function. Governmental bodies and financial institutions are usually located in the capitol of a state or country, as it is a central location in the area. Major cities such as capitols are often large hubs of with large populations, and the majority of citizens may reside within large city limits. To keep people entertained and contributing to the economy and culture, social attractions such as sporting arenas, museums, libraries, and shopping centers are often found within major cities. One example of such a city is Sacramento, California. It is the state capitol and boasts quite a large population. The state government buildings are all found near the city’s center, along with shops, restuarants, a civic center, and large bank offices. It is true that one must study a society’s major cities to understand important characteristics of that society, but societies are composed of much more than just large cities like Sacramento.

Rural communities are also vital to a society’s ability to function properly and must also be studied if a society is to be fully understood. These communities tend to be found outside of cities in large, open areas where there is abundant land for agriculture. Most of the food grown in a society comes from rural areas, which is then transported into larger cities to feed the large masses of people living there. Without rural areas supplying food, textiles, and other goods to cities, it would be impossible to maintain such high populations of citydwellers. Additonally, rural areas often have different traditions and cultures than major cities, since the daily lives of people who live in rural settings is much different than for people living in a large city. These rurak cultures may be different, but they are still valuable to a society and deserve to be understood. If we return to Sacramento, California and expand our view, we will see that it is surrounded by smaller agricultural towns and communities that grow crops and raise farm animals, much of which goes to feed the people of Sacramento.

Societies are complex, and one must examine them in their entirety to fully understand them. Major cities are certainly socioeconomic and political hubs of many societies, but rural areas are what allow those cities to flourish. What makes a society great does not lie only within cities, but from the areas and communities that surround and support those cities as well.