Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the claim. Address the most compelling reasons/examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Small businesses are a cornerstone of the American Dream: to own your own shop, be your own boss, in a business you built yourself. The ability to come to the United States with little else but hope and the dream of a better life is what brought so many people to this country. Small businesses can become the backbone of a community, from book club meetings at the local bookstore to food drives and donations at the diner down the block. The role that government plays in the success of these small businesses is beneficial and necessary to keep such vital community components alive.

As gigantic corporations spread across the country, small businesses are put at risk. Local and small businesses often cannot afford to compete with large nationwide companies with a lot of funding behind them, and thus can potentially be forced out of operation. Govnerment intervention in the private sector can help small businesses with subsidies or zoning laws to hinder the spread of larger corporations to communities where small businesses are vital. This allows small businesses to remain competitive against their larger rivals.

In contrast, some may believe that government regulation in the private sector can go too far. For example, employers may be required by law to provide fulltime employees with health coverage, despite the size of the business. This can disproportionately impacts small businesses that do not have the profits or funds to cover their employees’ health care costs, on top of the additional costs of operating a business: retail space, electricity, shipping fees, employee pay, merchandise costs, and more. By allowing small businesses to decide how they spend their earnings without government interference, more small businesses will be able to a profit year after year.

Without small businesses, the United States would be a much different place. ‘Mom and Pop’ stores are what define small communities, and government assistance can prevent that from changing. In a time where globalization and next-day delivery are forcing small businesses to shutter their windows, government actors should do what they can to keep Main Street alive.