Progress is best made through discussion among people who have contrasting points of views

History has witnessed countless revolutionaries who strive to deliver their contrasting messages to the authority. These revolutions have pushed the human race to a more harmonious, more modern society. No matter it's the Industrial Revolution, the French Revolution, or the very recent A4 Revolution in China, all have liberated some parts of human population to a great extent. Therefore, it is fair to say that progress is best made through communication among people of different opinions.

Only contrasting opinions can initiate ponderous reflections. It is only when people encounter starkly different views do they struggle to gather evidence in defense of their own view. If their own opinions are widely supported by others around them, they will not bother to rethink their statement or meticulously prove it. For example, Mao Zedong, once the chair of an authoritarian country, wrongly started the Cultural Revolution which aimed to destroy all intellectual properties in China because no one in the government dared to oppose him. Without contrasting ideas, Mao couldn't reflect upon his regime and thus made the disastrous mistake. In contrast, the U.S. government, facing the mass demonstrations against its racial discriminatory policies enacted by former president Trump, now decides to loosen its grip on people of color because it realizes the potential threats to the country underlying its previous policies with the help of opposing opinions from the public.

Expanding on this, it is only through the transaction of different ideas that people can form better solutions. It may be hard to think of a brilliant solution to a dilemma by one person. However, selecting beneficial ideas from opposing sides and combining them together, one can form a cornucopia of resources and adapt them more fittingly to the complex situations. The United Kingdom, for example, is made up of multiple parties that contribute their opposing ideas to the country. Despite their arguments, the government eventually considers all aspects of the opposing ideas and selects the best ones to combine. Therefore, the government can make a relatively beneficial decision for the society as a whole. Similarly, in the field of science, Newton had to take into account of the different hypotheses as to why we stand erect on earth before he could finally come up with his experiment and prove his theories. Without the inspiration from different ideas, right or wrong they might be, an individual can hardly have the creativity to think of a practical solution.

Admittedly, it is true that when a group of people want to reach a certain goal, it may be best for them to reconcile their differences first and present a unified goal toward the authority. For instance, a revolutionary group is unlikely to succeed if they constantly yell different proposals to the government. However, it is worthy to notice that without at least one opposing force, in this case, the government, it is nearly impossible to form a strong opinion in the very first place, in this case, the revolutionary group. Only with contrasting views at hand first can we initiate progress. Unifying different ideas in a progressive group is merely a reform tool to achieve success; it does not contrast with the cardinal need of progress which is possessing a variety of voices.

Therefore, it is best for us to think outside of the box and try to absorb contrasting views whenever we make a decision. It might sound absurd at first, but it is only the differences that make our society more prone to progress.