The speaker states that it is sometimes necessary and desirable for political leaders to withhold information from the public

Politicians are prone to tell lies to the public because they want to burnish their image and thus gain more support. For example, they may withhold their disgraceful past from the people. Some may think that certain politicians' edges shouldn't be affected by the exposure of their shameful past, but even if the politicians have changed for the better, the public still deserve to know their past for a more holistic view of the politicians. After all, the public are not a group of uneducated children who have no ability of judgement; they ought to know the bigger picture as much as possible to make the right choices on their own.

The politicians and the public should collaborate to regulate the polities, and thus they should possess the same amount of available information. As the Greek author Sophocles famously wrote in his play "Antigone": a state without the people but one man is not a state. When it comes to important decisions, such as setting standards for regulating environmental pollution, peacekeeping, adjusting economic policies, etc., the public will need to vote to ensure that the outcome is preferable for most of the people in the state. The politicians, although elected by the people and possibly possess extraordinary knowledge in politics, do not necessarily make the best decisions alone due to their privileged perspectives. Yet, to include the public's wisdom in the decision-making process requires the public to be more knowledgeable about what is currently happening in the world as clearly as possible. Therefore, it can never be more desirable to allow politicians to cover up against the public.

In the same line of thinking, keeping information from the public grants politicians an intolerable concentration of power. Xi Jinping, by determining that no information against China's Communist Party (CCP) can be shown to the public, forbids Chinese citizens from approaching the facts on how CCP abuses its citizens. Under such a brainwashing act, Xi can keep his regime in place. Then, he can wield his power however he wants as his citizens are just ignorant lamb, absorbing information only after Xi's filter, which precludes any news that does harm to his throne. Similarly, if politicians can conceal their suspicious acts during elections, then they hold a higher power over citizens to ensure their winning, while citizens have no choice but to be misled by politicians. In extreme cases, this can cause an authoritarian regime, which leads to haphazard political decisions and gradually deteriorates the order of the state.

Admittedly, covering up dangerous information when a crisis happens can, to some degree, placate the citizens' emotions and ensure the peace and order of the society. However, governments should not think of citizens as so easily fluttered that they cannot take the burden of any crisis. One goes through life with accidents taking place almost every day, and an adult citizen will not be completely vulnerable facing a piece of shocking news. Instead, politicians should share the unfortunate news with the public and discuss solutions together. As long as the news source is validated by the government (in fact, every source should be clear before they are delivered to anyone), citizens have the right to the news for the better good of social progress.

In a word, in a state where equality exists between citizens and the government, politicians should not hide information from the public under any circumstances. Withholding information is an arbitrary assessment of civic ability and suppresses citizen rights. It also imparts politicians with too much power, potentially leading to a totalitarian society and endless forms of oppression.