Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The author of the memo contends that they should re-lengthen the time for weather and local news to avoid losing further advertising incomes and to lure more viewers to watch their news program. This may sound reasonable, but his/her assertion relies on several assumptions that need to be proved with further specific evidence. Without that, his/her assertion will be weakened significantly.

First and foremost, the stated period may not sufficient to determine. One year may not be representative to show the general trend of TV watchers. To analyze the general and fully representative trend, we need to study several years which can give more reliable results. Also, the absolute number of complaints is required. Even though most of the complaints suggested from viewers were for weather and local news, it would be a negligible result if the initial complaints number was very small, such as five to ten. Without specific information concerning much longer period analysis and absolute complaint numbers, the author's opinion cannot be persuasive.

Furthermore, the author has to offer the reason why local businesses canceled their advertisement. He/she assumes that they canceled advertisements due to decreased time for local news. However, they might not cancel for that reason. For example, if there was an economic recession last year, most local businesses, especially small restaurants, could not prolong the advertising contract. If the reason was irrelevant to the lesser time, restoring the time would not give any benefit to the television station. In addition, there is no specific number of local businesses who canceled the advertising, too. If it is a small number enough to neglect, the stated loss from losing advertisement may not be significant as assumed. So, the author has to reveal the connection between the reason they canceled and program schedule.

Lastly, he/she guesses they can increase viewers and avoid losing further revenues by rearranging the news time. However, it is unknown whether the current watchers and advertisers are satisfired with current form or not. If decreasing the national news make them uncomfortable, they will quit to watch or do not prolong their advertisements. This can literally decrease the watchers and bring significant loss in advertising revenues. So specific evidence pertaining to current viewers and advertisers are necessary to determine this restoring decision.

In sum, the author has to give more specific evidence mentioned above.