Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

In the passage, the business manager of a television station claims that in the past year, their news channel has focused more on national news, rather than on weather and local news. This has led to complaints form viewers and has also resulted in the withdrawal of ads form their local businesses. The manager plans to bring back the local and weather news to the same level as it was a year before, in order regain viewership and advertising contracts. However, there are several assumptions that the manager has made in taking such a decision.

Firstly, we do not know about any complaints that the television station may have been receiving the year before changing their program. It is possible that some viewers may have complained about too much local news had not enough national news, which may have led the station to change their program in the first place. Going back to their older program would re-ignite the issue and would thus would not lead to their complaints decreasing. The manager therefore has to provide more data about the previous year, and the reasons that led them to change their program a year ago.

It is possible that even before the station changed their program, the local businesses in the region were already recording low sales due to other external factors. It is also possible that the time when the ads were aired was not optimal, as most people would rather watch a sports game or a movie rather than watch news late at night, which would explain their dimunitive viewing numbers. We need more information about status of the local bussinesses and the news program's late night viewing numbers before we attribute their removal to a change in programming.

The manager believes that changing the program to the state it was a year earlier would appease the viewers however, we cannot know this for sure, as one year is a long time. In this time the viewers may have found some alternative more convient way to access their local and weather news and would perhaps stick to it even if the channel started broadcasting it again. Thus we cannot know for sure if bringing their program to its original state would bring back their lost viewers and could perhaps even irrate their current viewers who like the new format.

It is therefore because of the above reasons, that the decision made by the manager fallible and cannot be held as right untill additional data is provided.