Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The business manager comes to a conclusion that the channel should start devoting time again to weather and local news like before to attract it's viewers back. The author provides certain reasons like local businesses cancelled their advertising contracts and viewers complaining obout the coverage of the weather and local news.However,I think that the author overlooks certain flaws which make the argument weak.

Firstly, author shows no relation between the business advertise and the late-night programs.Local businesses might have cancelled their contracts because of some other reason .May be the advertising wasn't helping the business in increasing the revenue or maybe they got a better deal with some other news station so they shifted there.In that case restoring the weather and local news to its former time will not help.Moreover even if the local businesses return to the channel,thers's no guarantee that the news station would not lose money.They could be other costs which the channel would not be able to recover.For example, The station might be hiring more journalists and reporter compared to past years or its could be the expensive equipments that are used .Therefore, to ensure that the station will not lose money author should dismiss the assumption with proper evidence.

Secondly, the complaints from the viewer will be because of the poor quality of news or the way the news is presented.There may be issue with the channel's coverage or the anchor isn't properly saying out the news.It could also be possible that people are more busier in the life now than they were in the past years and hence they don't get time to watch the news.In that case again restoring the weather and local news to its former time will not help. What if even after restoring the weather and local news station is unable to get it's viewers back ? Then it would again cost the channel a huge amount of money.

In absence of the above mentioned flaws and proper evidence by the author,his argument is weak and unpersuasive.