Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The argument is related to telivision news channel. It asserts that increased time for showing national news and less broadcasting of local and weather of late-night news program resulted in loss of viewership and advertisments. Losing advertisements will reduces revenues of news channel. In order to overcome these problems, the author states that the more time should be devoted to weather and local news as earlier.

Firstly, the author has not mentioned how much more time the news channel is devoting to the national news. It will help us in deciding whether increase in time for national news can really impact viewers. Though, the author mentioned that their were complaints related to coverage of local and business news. The author should provide number of people watching the night news program and number of people complained. It may be the case that there are 1000 people watching the program but only 5 people complained about showing local and weather news.

Secondly, the author stated that few local business have just canceled their advertising contracts with the news channel. But, the author failed to mention any correlation between cancelling th advertisement contracts and showing local and weather news. He has not mentioned the existing number of advertisers advertising their companies during night time program and number of advertisers cancelling the contract. The reason for advertising the contract can be anything and not solely realted to showing local news and coverage.

Finally, the author has not mentioned current standing of news channel compared to its competitors. The author should some more information related to viewership market share and number of advertiers of their company. It may be the case that quality of national news at night news programme is not good which resulted in the cancellation of contracts of few advertisers and moving to different news progarms. It is very difficult to determine the impact on viewership and advertisements based on only the past year.

In conclusion, in order to prove the author's argument, he should more information and statistics about news coverage discussed in the points above. The author should provide information related to the number of viewers and complaints received. In order to prove his point, he should provide more information about different advertisers during night news programme and also its competitors shows during the same time in order to say it as true.