Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The argument contains many assumptions which do not substantially support the claim that in order to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing advertising revenue, the late-night news must restore it's original weather and local news time.

One flaw in the argument is that the author puts weight in that most of the complaints recieved from viewers were regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news. The assumption is that viewers were unhappy with how little coverage there was of weather and local news. However, due to the vague language utilized it could indeed be the opposite and the viewers actually prefer even less coverage. The statement only states that the complaints were concerned with the covereage in general. The lack of specificity makes it unclear what these complaints were actually about. In addition, even though most complaints were about coverage does not mean that this was significant in and of itself. For example, the year prior could have had 100 complaints about how there was too much weather and local news coverage and this year there were 10 complaints about there being not enough coverage. Nonetheless, if there were only 15 total complaints in the current year and 10 were about the lack of coverage, than yes it would mean that most were about the news coverage however if you take into account the number of complaints in totality this number yields insignificant. In the event that there actually were a large number of complaints, it still is unclear if the number would actually be representative of the population that watches the show. For example, there may be hundreds upon hundreds of complaints but they could be by the same few people or by a small group whose opinions do not represent the majority of viewers.

Another flaw in the argument is the assumption that advertising from local businesses has decreased and to avoid losing revenue the station must in turn bring back the weather and local news allotments. There are several inherant issues with this flow of logic. First, it assumes that a decrease in advertising from local businesses leads to lost revenue. This does not take into account the advertising budgets of non-local or national businesses who may have increased their advertising dollars with the station now that there is more focus on national news. It is also unclear why the local businesses have canceled their contracts and does not in explicit terms state that it was due to less local news time. It may be that even if more local coverage was added that local businesses in general are moving away from television advertising and taking those dollars to other channels like print or digital.

This brings us to the last point which assumes that the complaints made demonstrate a decrease in viewership. Viewership may be entirely independent of whether or not the station promotes weather and local news. There are growing trends that people are venturing towards other news outlets online which may explain any decrease in viewership. To help substantiate this claim a survey could go out to potential viewers to help determine if returning the weather and local news slots to their previous allotment would attract them to watching the show.

Ultimately, the argument that restoring time for weather and local news will attract more viewers and avoid losing advertising revenue is unfounded.