“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer's argument seemed logical at first glace, however the conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no strong and clear evidence and data.

The writer confirmed that the time devoted for national news increased over the time allocated for weather and local news leading to complaints from viewers and cancellation of advertising contracts.

Firstly, the writer laid emphasis on complaints from viewers about the reduced coverage of weather and local news, but failed to state the allocated time for each news category for analysis. There is no clear information on the number of viewers that made complaints in relation to the total numbesr of viewers per news categories. How do we know the percentage of complaints to the total number of viewers?

Additionally, the writer stated that local businesses cancelled their advertiding contracts but he did not include the reasons why they cancelled. How many local businessses advertises with the news station? How many business cancelled their contracts? Where is the data showing the percentage of businesses that cancelled due to change in time devoted to national news ? How did the writer conclude they camcelled because the news coverage on weather and local news reduced?

Lastly, the writer concluded that in order to attract more viewers to the program, there would be need to retore the time devoted to weather and local news. How did the writer arrive at this conclusion when rhere is no eveidence showing the number of viewers prior the time increment and no data ssupporting this claim?

How does the writer assumes that restoring the time chnage fpr the local and weather news would increase the numer of viewers?

The writers argument would be strengthened considerably if he can provide evidences showing the direct relationshio betweem the change in time allocation of the news coverage and reduction in the numer of viewers.