"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the give argument the author has vaguely decided that the coverage of weather and local news have decreased its viewer which is highly contentious. Different people may have different positions on this topic; however in my perspective there is more research to be done before concluding that coverage of national news only will solve the problem arised.

One reason for my belief is that the author mentions that there was complaints regarding the weather and local news. Here, the complaint might be regarding the inaccuracy of the weather in contrast to the news. Or, the local news as per the news channel is not good enough or accurate enough. For which the author assumed that complaint was for the coverage of weather and local news as whole.

Secondly, about the cancellation of the advertisements of local businesses, might be because advertising in the news is not helping them to promote their business. Or, as the local news is not presented in an appropriate way the local businesses do not want to advertise in such news show. Also, it is all assumed on the basis of past year forgetting that time changes and so does the situation and perspective of the people.

Author assuming that devoting increased time to national news, is the solution of all the problems, is just not smart decision. The author should rather research on what the complains actually are and what could be the proper fix so that the people as well as the advertisers are satisfied.

Hence, the author must carry further research regarding the issues that the news program is facing instead of jumping to a conclusion.