Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

While an increase in time allotment of weather and local news would increase the number of viewers, the author's argument does not make a cogent case for reverting it to its formal level. The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons, primarily because of the lack of proper evaluation of complaints and the reasons behind plummeting local advertisement contracts.

Firstly, the author assumed that complaints received at the station on the coverage of weather and local news is the representative of a large sample of viewership. It might be the case that a large number of complaints were filed by a few of the viewers who represent an infinitesimal percentage of overall viewership. Moreover, the author does not mention the type of claims that were lodged, and they might be about the content of the local and weather news rather than the time allotment issue in question.

Secondly, there is no evidence for a correlation between the decrease of the local business advertisement contracts and time allotment of local and weather news. The contracts might plummet due to various reasons which could be a decrease in popularity of the news channel or a considerable shift of business to a neighboring city.

Lastly, the author does not provide any ration behind reverting the time allotment of local and weather news to its formal level. As the time changes, peoples need and necessities also change, thus reverting time allotments to its former level does not necessarily increase the viewership and business contracts.

The author's argument would have been stronger had it provided information about the sample distribution and specifics of complaints received and the relation between the local and weather news timings with local business contracts.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case for increasing the time allotment of local and weather news to its formal level.