Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The argument claims that paleo diets are becoming very popular these days as they can cure many chronic illnesses. stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on the assumptions, for which there is no evidence. hence, the argument is weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the champions of the paleo diet claims that the human bodies evolved by following this diet. Since, they belive that this type of diet provides many health-promoting nutrients. this statement is a stretch and is not substantiated in any way. For example, people who do not follow this diet also include bone broth in their regular diets, but still facing the issues with the joints such as knees and elbows. Clearly, it is not only for people who follow Pale diets that can have chondrotin, but normal people will also have chondrotin. hence, it is not chondrotin that makes the difference. The argument could be much clearer, if it explicitly mentions how exactly paleo diets are providing exclusive health benefits, while other diets cannot.

Second, the argument claims that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases that those who don't. this is again very weak and unconvincing, as the argument does not provide any correlation between bone broth and metabolic, inflammatory diseases. To illustrate, the bone broth could have some nutrients which helps in preventing the metabolic and inflammatory disesases. while, the argument did not mention any such correlation and stated as and anecdotal evidence. if the argument could have mentioned the effects of bone broth on the mentioned types of diseases, then the argument would be lot more convincing.

Finally, the argument concludes that if we follow the eating habits of ancient humans, we could cure many chronic illnesses. The argument did not provided enough evidence on how exactly following ancient eating habits will cure chronic illnesses. The argument also claims that ancient humans know about the human physiology that we do not. The author should give more examples and evidences to support this claim as what exact aspects are the modren day humans lacking in the human physiology understanding. Without convincing answers to the above questions, one is left with an impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substansive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. The argument could be considerebly strengthened, if the author mentions all the relevent factors associated with the paleo diets. In order to assess the merits of a particular situation, it is essential to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors.