“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped from decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

The argument states that the unemployment problem in the town can be mitigated by constructing the autotech automobile manufacturing plant in that area. stated this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on the assumption for which there is no evidence. Hence, the argument is rather weak, unconvinced and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the construction of the automobile manufacturing plan in the hillview landfill, which is a perfect site to build, will reduce the unemployment problem. this statement is a stretch and is not substantiated in any way. there can be many reasons for this assumption of hillview landfill is the best suited site. Had the author said that, the hillview landfill is a barren land, where the farming of the land is not efficacious and will be better used for the construction of the manufacturing industry, then the author would have sounded much more clearer. But the author fails to mention several factors, wheather the landfill is easily accessible to all sorts of people, carrying the machinery to-n-fro and other resource related factors. The argument could have been much more clearer, if the author clearly mentioned, why he chose the hillview landfill to be the perfect site for the construction of the industry.

Second, the author assumes that the construction of the automobile industry will mitigate the unemployment problem of the area. this again is a very weak and unconvincing statement as the author fails to mention the correlation between the two. it is not always necessary that the manufacturing industry will employ the local people as the required labor. To illustrate, the manufacturing industry may require the labor who are skilled to perform the job, the locals may not be skilled in that particular sector. clearly, the argument fails to mention the reason that the unemployed locals will get employement in the manufacturing industry which might setup in their area. The argument would have been much more convincing, if the author clearly mentioned the correlation of setting up the industry will lead to employment of the locals, by provinding evidences and examples of similar situations in the past.

Finally, the argument concluded by saying that the autotech manufacturing industry will get attracted by giving the tax incentives. The author did not mentioned how exactly giving the tax incentives will attract setting up the manufacturing industry in that particular area. Without convincing answers to the above questions, one is left with an impression that the augument is more of a wishful thinkinking rather than a substantive one.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons. The argument could be further strengthened by giving all the contributing factors associated with it. it is better to know all the contributing factors, in order to access the situation/decision, in our case setting up the manufacturing plant in the hillview landfill.