“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.”

The arguments states that the smith corporation should not be permitted to develope the land of the Youngtown wildlife preserve, as it has some deletereous consequences for the area surrounding it. stated this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which the argument could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on the assumption for whcih there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, argument readily assumes that the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for the surrounding area. this statement is a stretch and is not substantiated in any way. For instance, there may or may not be the reasons for the consequnces expected by the author. The Sundarban wildlife sanctuary in India is facing the extinction of rare species, as the government allowed the setup of factories in the surrounding area. The argument could have been much more clearer if the author explicitly mentioned what and how exactly is the development causes the adverse affects. The author can give supporting evidences of similar development having disastrous affects on the sanctuary.

Second, the argument assumes that the construction of the small hotel on the land will harm the sanctuary. this again is a very weak and unsupported statement. The author fails to mention proper evidence to support his statement, even though the company promised to preserve the sanctuary. To illustrate, the author could give examples such as: waste produced from the hotel can pollute the near by river, which have adverse affect on the polulation of the bird species, which rely on the river for drinking water; the visitors of the hotel may hunt the birds for recreation purpose. Clearly, the author fails to mention how exactly constructing a small hotel will have harm the sanctuary.

Finally, the argument concludes that the sale of the land to smith corporation for constructing the hotel will benefit the community. The author should explain all the above mentioned questions on how exactly his argument is valid for the current situation, by giving proper explaination and supporting evidences. Without enough evidences, it looks like the argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substantiated one.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons. The argument could be arguably strengthened if it provides enough evidences to support it. it is better to have the knowledge of all the contributing factors, in order to assess a particular situation or a decision. In our case, the construction of a small hotel amist of the sanctuary.n.