Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the physiology of the hominids are similar to mordern human physiology, rendering its main conclusion, that paleo diets can cure many chronic illnesses in mordern humans, invalid.

The argument fails to provide justification that the hominids and homosapiens have a similar physiology. In the years of evolution of the humans, many organs and bolidy funtions of have evovled with the changing environment and society . Even if we assume that hominids benefited from the paleo diets, it may not be necessarily true for mordern humans. Had the argument provided information regarding the similarities of the physiology of the hominids and mordern human. Even then the argument would have to further prove that these diets are truly beneficial for our health.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. Even if the paleo diets have health promoting nutrients such as cartilage and chondroitin, they are not likely to be able to make us any healthier. There is no scientific evidence that ingested cartilages can replenish cartilage in our knees and elbows neither make our brains any healthier. Nonetheless, the argument assumes that beacuse bone broths contains health promoting nutrients , they will definetly make is healthier.

Finally the argument clains without warrant that people who consumes bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases that those who don't. The evidence provided in the argument does not have scientific evidence for its validation and thus the statement remains anecdotal.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that Paleo diets can make is healthier as it did for the hominids.