Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Supporters of Paleo diets who believe the food had many health-promoting nutrients fail to produce any evidence from real-life experimentation or knowledge. In today's age science has advanced so much so as to provide fruitful evidence that the animal broth has any effective and health-benefiting nutrients or not. They should rely more on scientific proof rather than anecdotal evidence.

Also ,supporters of Paleo diets should consider that we are not aware under what circumstances was the animal broth soup made. It could be highly possible that humans have shortage of other food supplies and then had to rely on animal bone broth to get considerably more energy or taste than plain water.

Skeptics of Paleo diets should base their analysis only on the basis of anatomy and life longitivity or defence mechanism of humans who consumed the animal bone broth rather than a generalised theoriitical explaination. As many a times, theory can only lead you until to a certain limit and often times theoritical understanding is proven erroneous by pragmatic and practical approaches. In quantum physics, nuclear fission was initially considered impossible, as the atom was thought to be the smallest element. It was only through physical experimentation that an atom was broken down into nuclei. Thus, an idea which was not theoritically achievable with initial understanding became a whole science in itself through practical approach.

Historians and Archeologists who work on the sites of previous civilizations such Harappa and Mesopotamia can argue that human understanding in the past was far more ahead than recent knowledge in many fields. Ancient sciences in medicine like Ayurveda date back to thousands of years and yet are very effective. Its only plausible that the humans of ancient times had deep understanding of human anatomy and nature. But at the same time it can be argued that they believed in experimentation while discovering the nature of things, and not every approach which was followed could be considered as true due to limitation of tools to test accurate results in those times.

To conclude, when considering Paleo diets, one should take into account the circumstances in which the broth was made and the scientific evidence in today's era of the nutrients present in the broth. Before completely throwing away the claim one should also consider any research done on empirical data and the facts and figures from historical evidence as to why the broth was even made in the first place.