A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that the company should not devote further resources to the investigation on the recalled food. This is based on the premise that the samples of the recalled food where tested and no evidence was found. At first the argument may sound logical and true, bit it is based on several flawed assumption which are not validated for its correctness.

Firstly, the argument says that the pet that had consumed food showed vomiting,lethargy and other signs of illness. From when are these symptoms happening to the pet? It could be possible that other than food the pet could have eaten something else which could have cause these. It could be possible that because of overeating of that food caused these symptoms If they could have mentioned properly about how long is these happening. By telling details about the time of these illness occurring and amount of the food that dog ate could strengthn the argument.

Secondly, The argument states that pet food company recalled all the 4 million pounds of pet food. How are they sure its the same food they have given?. 4 million pounds of food they have recalled are they the same one they have distributed. Answering these question would make the argument valid.

Lastly, The food was tested and all chemicals that were in the food are approved for the use of food. They argument fails to mention about the name of the company?, What are the chemicals found in that food test samples?. If they would have specified the name of the company and also about the chemicals then it could provide transperancy to the people who are using that pet food.

In conclusion, As now the argument is full of flawed assumptions by not giving proper detail about the - time from when the symptoms started occuring in the pets, sureity about the food that was recalled , the name of the chemical company in which the pet food samples where tested and what are the chemicals present in the pet food so as to say that they are safe for pets.