"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The letter provided to the editior of a national aeronautics magazine states that they should invest resources in unmanned space flight. This is based on the premise that manned space flights are dangerous and costly and also recent because of the recent success of unmanned space flight. At first the argument may sound logical and true. But the arguement is full of flawed assumption which are needed to be evaluated for its correctness.

Firstly, The letter says that unmanned flights are not costly. There may be a case that there is a failure in some part of the machine. Since it is unmanned there is no one to correct this failure. Rather if it would have been a manned flight such issues can be solved correctly without any worries. For example - a satellite or a probe carying a camera, an asteroid attack takes place which damges the camera setting now such damage the unmanned flight cannot correct whereas a manned fight can correct.

Secondly, The letter says that manned space fligts is costly and dangerous. There is no evidence given why it is dangerous, had there being an accident occured in past?. How much costly it is?. There is no detailed expalnation about these facts. Answering these questions will make the argument Stronger and the also correct.

Lastly, The letter says that a great deal of useful information is gathered by the unmanned flights. Are these information gathered trusthworthy? Are they correct? , As there was no one present on the unmanned flight to check for the validity of the information. For example - A satellite was sent to take pictures of the sun. But due to asteriod attack which normally takes place in the space the camera gets shifted and instead of getting pictures of sun the camera catches the pictures of mercury which is close to sun and also red in color from far it will look like a sun. Such mistakes regarding the infomation cannot be corrected in unmanned space flights.

In conclusion, As now the argument stays flawed with numerous unstated assumptions made which are not evaluted properly like- 1] Not exaplined properly why unmanned space probes are safe and costly, 2] Not given detailed information why manned space flights are costly and dangerous and 3] The information gathered by unmanned space flights are not validated for correctness.