Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In todays modern world, Mass media and Internet are the biggest and strongest mean to communicate with the audience. Articles found on internet about any thing may be right or wrong but it surely affects the state of mind if an individual. In my opinion I disagree with the statement that the mass media and internet have caused people’s attention span to be shorter. I support my position with the following two points.

To begin with, the content found on the internet is vast, one can find articles related to anything anywhere at just a click. For Example - Earlier there where newspaper which consisted of articles and news related mostly to their state only, to know about different state there where separate newspaper but mostly confined to their regional language. So one cannot read much from that newspaper. All these newspaper also cost money. Now since the internet has come all these articles are made available on the internet we can also read news about other state in your language. By these we come to know that internet and mass media have caused people’s attention span wider rather than shorter. Now a days new apps are getting launched in which one can be updated about what going on in their country in just 1 hr. These things surely proof’s that internet is a great piece of resource taking medium.

In addition, Since there is a large amount of data present in the internet today, people can now focus more on different variety of news. For example - As said earlier that news about different state is made available on the internet thus giving people a lot of quantity of information, this will not lead to people focusing on one idea only rather it will help them to choose what people want to read and what not. This shows that because of internet people will not focus on one thing rather they will have options to choose what they want to read.

In contrast, Internet and mass media are boon in may respects but they are also a bane at some parts. Due to giving resources freely on the internet make it a bane as children who are younger in age for them it could not be a right time to see news about murder or visit pronography sites. Making proper restrictions on such things will make the internet surely a boon for the world.

In conclusion, Mass media and internet cannot constraint the attention span of people in any respect rather they would expand it. The Internet has a variety of things which will help people to choose only what they like. Some drawbacks of the internet are surely present but proper ways can be developed in order to make it a good place for information gathering.