A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument concludes that the pet food company should discontinue the devotion of further resources to the investigation. This conclusion is based on the premise that the recalled food was not responsible for the symptoms experienced by the pets. However in order to properly evaluate this argument, there is need for a thorough examination of the three assumptions that the author makes.

First and foremost, the author assumes that the tested samples from the recalled food is representative of the population of recalled food. It is quite possible that there is an incidence of sampling bias whereby the selected samples do not give a fairly accurate representation of the total recalled food. It is stated that the company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food. Perhaps only a thousand pounds of the uncontaminated pet food was sampled for testing. If the above scenario is true, then the author's argument is significantly flawed.

Secondly, in making his argument, the author assumes that the recalled food underwent no changes within the timeframe that they were bought and then recalled. Probably, the packaging technique introduces an effervescent chemical that wears off within a very short period of time. However, this chemical might have been the cause of certain irritation that triggered the symptoms experienced in the pets. It is very possible that, as at the time of recall, the chemical had already worn off and consequently could not be detected during the sample testing. If the above is valid, then the validity of the author's argument is highly questionable

Furthermore, the author's argument relies on an assumption that the approval process - of the chemicals used in pet food - is foolproof. Perhaps, the process of approval of these chemicals is compromised due to certain reasons such as faulty equipment. This could to lead to the approval of chemicals that might be harmful to the anatomy of pets. If this happens, then the author's argument does not hold water.

Conclusively, the aforementioned assumptions will significantly weaken the author's argument if they prove unwarranted.