Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above

Morality, by definition, is simply an inherent embodiment of values that dictate what is right or wrong . Logical reasoning, on the other hand, is the ability to carefully discern right from wrong. In the quest to produce a moral society, some might argue that education should be fundamentally based on teaching morality. Others, however, might opine that the likelihood of producing a moral society will be higher if education is based upon a foundation of teaching logical reasoning. Although morality has a place in producing a moral society, the production of a moral society is in the province of education that is fundamentally based on logical reasoning.

Education that is based on logical reasoning equips the educated one with the ability to confront situations outside the confines of the educational environment. Students who are educated in an educational system that is founded on morality often turn out to be rigid in their approach to issues. Many of these students do not necessary have an understanding of the underlying logic behind the characterization of certain values as "right" and "wrong". However, students that come from an educational background that is based on logical reasoning are equipped with the ability to discern right from wrong. Compared to their counterparts that are educated based on only morals, they are able to better confront situations to which they might not have been exposed to.

Furthermore, education that is based on logical reasoning enables the one educated in such manner a freedom from encumbrances that might otherwise be faced if such education is based on only morals. Students are able to take action and subsequently take ownership for their actions because these actions are a result of carefully thought out logical processes.

On the contrary, moral-based education might triumph over logic-based education due to the fact that the concept of "right" and "wrong" are subjective to the whims and caprices of different people. For instance in certain cultures, certain fundamental beliefs have been passed down for generations. Although unproven, these beliefs have stood the test of time because they have birthed positive results. When in a quagmire, an individual may be the better for it if he rescinds his logical reasoning for this age-long tradition.