Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Some might argue that students should be dissuaded from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to "succeed". But others might maintain that students be encouraged to pursue their interests irrespective of the likelihood of "success". After careful examination of various evidences, students should encouraged rather than being discouraged from pursuing their preferred fields of study whether such fields seem auspicious or not.

To begin with, educational institutions run the risk of churning out "professionals" who have no passion for the work they do even if they succeed in their respective fields. This is because success and fulfillment are not mutually exclusive. Such professionals might end up being remiss in dispensing their duties appropriately. For instance, a doctor - who was dissuaded from pursuing his musical passion - has a higher tendency to get complacent compared to one whose life-long goal has been to help humanity by saving lives. This is also partly due to the tendency for individuals to commit all of their energy to that which they love.

Second of all, the notion that these students are unlikely to succeed paradoxically makes it more exigent for determined and passionate students to pursue such fields due to certain reasons. Competition is relatively low, and such students stand a higher chance of being eminent in their chosen fields. A good example is the legendary Lionel Messi who happened to suffer a serious cognitive illness that affected his motor movements at a very young age. Unsuprisingly, he was discouraged from pursuing his interest in football due to the notion that he was very unlikely to "succeed". Today, however, Messi is arguably known as the world's best footballer. Therefore, students should be encouraged rather than being discouraged from pursuing fields about which they are passionate irrespective of the likelihood of success.

Although others might raise the argument that it is quite risky to pursue a field with a low likelihood of success, this argument, however, does not hold water when one considers that the world in which we live in today continues to evolve in an endless fashion. A purportedly "unsuccessful" field today might be the "hottest" field tomorrow. For these reasons, it is not advisable to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study that in which they deemed unlikely to "succeed".