Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some might argue that due to the inherent physical differences between men and women, they are not equally suited for many tasks. Others, however, might posit that they are equally suited for many tasks - if not all - regardless of their differences in terms of physicality. After considering the available evidences, it is clear that men and women are not equally suited for many tasks.

To begin with, in many rural communities in Africa, men are the sole benefactors of the family. These men relie on work ranging from subsistence farming and hunting to feed their families. Due to the absence of any form of technological advancement in these communities and the arduous nature of the work that needs to be done, productivity becomes a function of sheer strength and muscle power. While in rare cases women might partake in these activities, men are usually at the receiving end of this strenous work due to the sinewy and thewy nature of their bodies. In most cases, women who are found doing such work are widows who have to take on this responsibility to feed her children.

Second of all, there are certain tasks more suited to the feminine gender due to their delicate nature. One good example is the issue of pregnancy. Women are not recommended to engage in rigorous tasks that require physicality in order to avoid any adverse effect on their anatomy. Such repercussions include miscarriages due to the stress the foetus is subjected to. Also, women - who are often the home runners and are usually the first teachers of their kids - have a higher tendency to excel at tasks that require a persuasiveness and a touch of delicacy. Pregnant women will usually find a female gynaecologist more relatable than her male counterpart due to the obvious reason that she is better positioned to feel what they feel. Tasks such as these do not require sheer strength and muscle power. Moreover, in the times of war, women are more suited to handle tasks such as nursing the wounded and providing food for ravished soldiers.

However, there are certain reasons that can be used to challenge the aforementioned position. From history, women have been known to achieve much more than men while executing tasks that were mostly unarguably masculine. Also, the notion that men have more pronounced attributes with respect to physicality might be greatly challenged when we consider that these physical attributes can be acquired through processes such as workout routines. That is, the initial nature of women does not preclude them from acquiring these physical attributes over time. Likewise, a man who does not make the conscious effort to stay fit might find himself not suited to physical tasks that hardworking females make find easy to execute.