Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In some spheres of learning, the academic performance of students is considered the determining factor of the teachers' salaries. On the other hand, some other schools of thought might posit that teachers' renumerations should be independent of their students' academic performance. After weighing available evidence, I disagree that teachers' salaries be fundamentally based on the performance of their students.

Those who posit that teachers be renumerated based on the academic performance of their students fail to acknowledge a basal fact - more often than not, teachers do not have control over the type of students they get. This singular fact implies that the avenue for judging different teachers will not offer a level playing ground. Teachers are mainly employees that are assigned to do the job of teaching and while they have a responsibility towards their students, there is only so little that can be achieved when such students have no motivation by themselves to do well. It mirrors a popular African axiom that: "You can only take a horse to the river; you cannot force it to drink water". These students - the "horse" in this case - can only be provided with the tools and methods that would enable them excel; the real job of excelling is totally within the province of the student, not the teacher. On the other hand, a teacher who is sometimes remiss in discharging his duties may be fortunate enough to get highly motivated students who would employ all means to come out in flying colors. If this two teachers are rewarded based on the performance of their respective students, it is clear that the renumeration they each get is not representative of their individual performance.

Furthermore, a teacher in charge of teaching a minute quantitative aspect of an art science will have little job to do if he gets students that possess sound quantitative abilities. Such students do not necessarily need the lessons thought by the teacher in order to excel at the subject. If the teacher is judged based on the performance of such students, he would definitely get a very high salary compared to his counterpart that had to teach students that have very poor mathematical skills. As such, the performance of the students is not indicative of the performance and effort of the teacher.

However, there are certain cases whereby better results are achieved by fundamentally basing the teachers' salaries on the students' academic performance. This method can be employed as an incentive to boost productivity of the teachers by pushing them beyond their comfort zone. This approach also fosters a competitive environment which subsequently leads to teachers sitting up and being serious with the work that they are hired to do.

Overall, there are benefits to both schools of thought and they each have scenarios where they are best matched to. While there are a myriad of shortcomings that could result from assuming students' performance as a benchmark for teachers' salaries, there are definitely use cases for it albeit small.