Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

The argument claims that the Madagascan shrimp will soon become an endangered species if the current trend continues. However, there are several evidences we need to look at in order to evaluate the validity of this argument.

First, we need a statistical data to really claim that the number of shrimp is indeed decreasing each year. By looking at the population trend of shrimp from previous years, we would be able to champion the argument that the trend is expected to continue over the next several years. If the trend showed rapid increase in shrimp population after decrease in shrimp population, the argument loses its credibility since we are expected to see rapid increase once again.

Moreover, since the breeding season is approaching fast, the change in shrimp population after the breeding season should be considered too. If the number of new-born shrimps after each breeding season are far greater than the decrease in shrimp population due to the incursion, shrimps would be become an endangered species and weaken the argument. Surely, scientists should also look at how many baby shrimps survive to become a full grown population after they are born to tell that the population would not experience significant reduction.

Finally, one should analyze whether the trend from recent incursion by deep-sea fisherman is expected to continue. If this was merely short-term trend that arose due to customers temporal liking of the Madagascan shrimp, the number of shrimps that fishermen catch would decrease as this trend disappears. Then, the shrimp population would continue to increase until they return to the normal level.