Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that continued fishing of Madagascan shrimp will lead the shrimp to become endangered is flawed in many ways.

The author makes several assumptions that need to be proven before this assumption can be made. For example, the premise that the fisherman are responsible for a significant reduction in the population needs to be proven. It is possible that other causes might be contributing to a decrease in population. Increase in water temperatures or reduction in food supply are two possible reasons a shrimp population might decline, and neither of those have anything to do with the deep-sea fishermen.

Even if we accept that the decline in population is due to the fisherman, the author also asks us to accept that the population will not return to normal levels even after breeding season. Information needs to be provided that illustrates why that might be the case. Data from previous years showing an overall decline in the population of shrimp would make this a stronger assertion. Otherwise, we cannot assume that the breeding numbers do not offset the fishing numbers.

The author makes another logical leap by asserting that if this trend continues, the shrimp will quickly become an endangered species. The author does not provide the population of shrimp, so it is unknown how close, if they are close at all to becoming endangered. It is possible that there is such an abudance of shrimp that they are causing negative impacts on other species. It is possible that even with a sharp decline, the number of shrimp will still by much higher than endangered.

In conclusion, the author asserts that the population of the shrimp is reducing, and that the fault lies with the fisherman. The author also states that their numbers will increase with the breeding season, but not enough to make up for the loss, and finally the author argues that this will cause the shrimp to become endangered. Before asking the reader to agree with these assertions, the author must provide more evidence showing a relationship between the fisherman and the population, a gradual decline even after breeding season, and how close the shrimp are to becoming endangered. Without these pieces of information, the argument remains faulty.