A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Our nation is a vast and varied one. Diverse regions house diverse individuals. Some argue that curriculum should be nationally mandated, but strict standardization will lead to the detriment of the individual.

Our nation is a vast and varied one. By forcing all students to study the same material, administrators would be stripping individual regions of their diversity. For example, schools in rural areas often have vocational-technical options that help prepare the students of that area for the jobs that will be available to them. High schools might offer agricultural courses to help children who grew up on a farm turn their home experience into a career. If that were mandated nationally, many people would find themselves wasting time in a class that had no use to them. If that were removed nationally, a small, but valid, portion of the population would be without a class that could help them attain a productive career.

This proposal also does not take into account the individual student. Each student has his or her own set of strengths and weaknesses. Is every student capable of succeeding in advanced Calculus? Surely not. By standardizing a curriculum, students would be punished. Either those who want to reach the upper levels would be forbidden to, or those who cannot achieve greatness in those classes would be subjected to failure. By preventing individuation, proponents of this idea are preventing students from reaching their full potential.

Although individuality is necessary, there should still be some standards. By setting a minimum standard, a national curriculum ensures that all its students are educated to a satisfactory level. By having standards, it is then possible to observe which schools are succeeding and which need additional supports. As with most things in life, maintaining a balance is imperative.

By mandating a national curriculum, there are many students who would fall through the cracks. Strong students would not be able to reach their full potential, and students who need more support would be forced to engage in classes they are not capable of understanding. If a national curriculum is to be adopted, it should allow room for individual regions and students, thereby ensuring the succcess of as many students as possible.