A recent study by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 % less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize the employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accident are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness related medications. The highest risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy in incidents based upon paid and unpaid leave.

The give argument is flawed because of the following misconception that the employees who did not get paid in the illness will more likely to have accidents, committing accidents because of illness is absurd and illness or its medication could affect the judgment of a person while working.

Having an accident just because a person is not getting paid when he or she is sick is totally unreasonable. It may happen that the person has the best health insurance that bears the cost of each and everything which is essential for the patients and for his survival, he may have a huge salary and getting not paid for a month or so will be negligible for him and he can easily manage that for that time period in which he is unable to work.

Being sick does not mean that the person is mentally sick he may be sick physically like it may be possible that his body parts and organs are just not working fine and though he is a joyful person and rarely feel any pressure of anything. It may also happen that his family members are supporting the sickness to the fullest. In the extreme scenario, what if he just won a lottery just a day after getting sick and now he may not have to work at all.

The medicines the people use is designed such that it is used for a specific purpose. It is completely absurd that the medicine the employee is taking in his illness is affecting his judgment and making his brain slow that after having years of experience the employee is going to make mistakes in which he has achieved expertise. For example, my school teacher is a well-known chemistry intelligentsia and she was sick for more than a month but after getting discharged from the hospital while she's still taking pills recommended by the doctor. But, I was unable to find a slight difference in his teaching or in his quality of teaching. She can still do complex questions while she is on medication. The medicines which slow down the human brain is rarely used as a medication for a patient in illness.

The highest risk is seen in the construction is totally unreasonable what if the engineer has to work on a computer to control the equipment used by the programs or he may have a job of a security guard so his mind is not often used and the construction zone is in a completely safe place where crime rate is nil.

In conclusion, money is important for the livelihood of a person but getting paid for the job or being unpaid in illness is the only reason for the major accident is completely unreasonable. The flaws in the judgment is not affected by the medicine until and unless the medicine is made for the purpose to cure the medical illness or slowing down the brain mechanism.