A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In mentioned part of the letter, it is presented some observations and then reached to an conclusion. The argument represents the recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys and their levels of stimulation. The experiment focuses on the hormone cortisols level in infant monkeys. Monkeys and humans are compared inbetween. And the final conclusion is derived after this experiment that first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offsprings.

In the presented analysis, there are certains assumptions made by author which makes argument not viable. These assumptions are mentioned as follows. First of all, the experiment is conducted with eighteen monkeys, hence we can't generalize cortisal pattern for all other monkeys just by 18 monkeys. Apart from this we also don't know how these monkeys are choosen, as they may be chosen depending upon specific qualities or they are choosen random. Both of these flaws makes the argument weak in an initial stage.

Besides, the chosen monkeys may show different type of stimulation according to their individual quality. It is likely not possible that all monkeys have same level of stimulation. It is also not mentioned in the analysis that among eighteen monkeys how many having their first stimulation.What if most of the monkeys having several offsprings and selected for experiment. By considering this the experiment fails. Another assumption made by author is that, human and monkey producing high level of cortisol. There is not stated evidence suporting the comparison between human and monkey. How we can assume that monday and human have same level of stimulation or cortisol. The comparison made here requires some support for leading towards the conclusion.

Besides, high level of the hormone cortisol in monkeys may have several other factors such as envionmental effect or their physicial structure etc. The only reason for high cortisol stated here is that it is because that it's monkey's level of stimulation. Author could have stated more proof to justify the conclusion.

Therefore, there are certain assumptions which makes the given argument weak. It could have been better by displaying more evidences and links between the elements.