A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

According to the argument, a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. There are other explanation which also helps to arrive at the same point.

During a stimulative situation such as when afirst born infant monkey faces with the unknown monkey. The infant monkey might think that this monkey is going to harm him. So, firstborn infant monkey produces twice as much of the hormone cortisol. When someother monkeys are trying to harm the infant monkeys mother. At that time infant monkey is not going to be quite. At that time infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol.

In human being also the same case. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). There are some other cases as well where human beings produce relatively high levels of cortisol. Whenever humans become very angry towards someone, they will start to criticise them. During which their mind is not in control. Therefore at that time also human beings produce relatively high levels of cortisol.

Not only in amimals and humans produce relatively high levels of cortisol, in case of birds also it is the same case. When birds lay their eggs in the nest’s and when snake tries to eat the egg’s at that time bird’s also prouce high levels of cortisol.

Therefore monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. There are other explanation which also helps to arrive at the same point.