abc

A question that continues to pique the interest of animal researchers revolves around whether felines were domesticated via artificial or natural selection. Experts believe that there are 41 species of felids in existence; only one species, however, represents the domesticated cat. The emergence of the domesticated cat can be illuminated by comparing characteristics of the oldest known species of felid, Proailurus, to those of the modern species of household cat, Silvestris Catus.

Analysis of the domestic cat has indicated that all felids descended from the same ancestor, thereby invalidating Linnaeus’s belief that Felis Catus is distinct from other members of the felid family. In 1758 Linnaeus postulated that due to the mutualistic relationship between humans and cats, the domestic cat holds a unique taxonomic classification from other felids. However, modern phylogenetics has shown a relationship between families. Based upon the fact that both the domesticated cat and its closest wild ancestor are diploid organisms having 38 chromosomes and approximately 20,000 genes, this modern theory proposes that the all members of the Felidae family have an inherent relation. Despite the fact that only members of Silvestris Catus are capable of maintaining a sociable relationship with humans, all felines show similarities in appearance, physiology, and communication. Undeniably, future research regarding genetic evolution will solve the mystery shrouding feline domestication