"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of this proposition states that birth order can significantly effects new born characteristics positively. Here, it is also stated that first born infant has shown increase level of activities and compared this results with human. Though the argument present here, is well articulated but it is based on some unwarranted assumptions which make this proposition weaker. Let me show you how these assumptions are based on faulty reasoning and to what extant these assumptions might hold true.

First of all, the proposition is based on study which is done only on eighteen monkeys. How can author come up with an idea that what is true for eighteen monkeys, will be true for rest of the monkeys. For instance, if the study is done 1000 monkeys then different results may be found. Furthermore, data for 18 monkeys can be biased. Had the author given more information about the data and how the tests were done on the monkeys then it would have been easier for anyone to agree with the author.

Again, the author suggested that the first born infants produce twice more cortisol than the other. But, he doesn’t clearly mention to what extant this increase cortisol helps to increase the new born infants’ activity level than the other. For example, what if twice cortisol augments only 5% increase in the activity levels then it would not be a significant amount. So, this assumption also seems pretty much vague in terms of plausibility. Again, if the author gives more information about level of increase in activity level then it would be a good point to agree with.

Finally, a similarity is drawn between human and monkeys. But, what happens for humans does not necessarily mean it will happen for monkeys. Human infants and monkey infants birth conditions are also not same which is why it is also a pretty silly assumption which will create doubts to the reader.

In sum, the author made some vague assumptions based upon which the proposition seems not to hold rights. Based upon the facts presented above, it can be concluded that infants increase activity level is not believable at all.